Abortion so Our Daughters Can “Fulfill Their Dreams”

Posted on

Thanks to my wonderful Twitter friend Robert an article about the President defending Roe v Wade was  brought to my attention. (You can find it here and the official statement at the website for the White House).

Obama states that we must remember Roe v Wade “affirms a broader principle: that government should not intrude on private family matters.”  (Obama. 2012.)

That is an amazing principle, one that we should also remember; we have no right to tell our friend, neighbor, etc what to be doing in a private family matter.  Arm them with knowledge and offer them support, but in the end it is their choice not ours.

Now, if he would have left it there fine.  Instead, he goes on to end by saying:

“And as we remember this historic anniversary, we must also continue our efforts to ensure that our daughters have the same rights, freedoms, and opportunities as our sons to fulfill their dreams.” (Obama. 2012)

While I am pro-choice (fully, see above–none of my business) I am offended and horrified by this statement.

First, I am a young mom; my first was born before I turned 20, the second shortly after my 21st birthday, and neither were planned.  I have big dreams, to say the least, I am planning on being in school for several more years.  I want to gain a PhD in counseling psychology and open my own fully encompassing non-profit for domestic violence and sexual violence survivors. I continue toy with idea of gaining a law degree in addition to my psychology degree.

My two children, one with autism, may make that road a little bumpy but they in NO way blocked it off for life.  I have delayed going to school at one point, I regret it, but I never once thought that I was never going to be able to achieve my goals before my kids were adults.

Secondly, and I believe most importantly, Obama’s statement makes it sound like the only person affected by a pregnancy is the woman pregnant; which couldn’t be farther from the truth.  The men are also affected and should be held to that standard.

His concern for our daughters future is (slightly) admirable, but the way he is going about it is WRONG.  He has (in my mind) given permission to “our sons” to not be affected, to not worry about it, and to walk away so they can fulfill their dreams.  If the woman they are with doesn’t get an abortion then she is the only one unable to fulfill her dreams.

While the rest of his statement supports prevention and adoption, these sentiments are far overshadowed by his bigoted statement.

Our daughters whether they be pregnant, moms, or not have the same opportunities to fulfill their dreams, they HAVE the same rights and freedoms as our sons.  We as parents need to make sure our sons and daughters understand that.

Our children need to see us claiming, chasing, and accomplishing our goals and dreams; no matter how “small.” Our daughters need to see strong, educated women who are unafraid to seize their dreams (no matter whether these women are moms or not, we all need role models.)

We also have the same responsibility to show our sons that if they choose to have sex and get a girl pregnant, there are sacrifices but their life is not over.  They also need to see that girls have the same rights, freedoms, and opportunities as them; that is how our daughters will be respected within our society.

In the end it’s our JOB to show our kids that no matter the obstacles we may face we can achieve our goals.  We have been told since kindergarten to “Reach for the stars” and “The sky is the limit” it is about time we start living that and showing our children that it’s the truth.

About illbeyourwater

A twenty-something mom of 2, wife of 1, candid (sometimes brutal), psych student.

4 responses »

  1. I get where he was trying to going with the statement, given his previous statements about men abandoning their children, deadbeat dads and how hard it is for low income women..etc, etc…. But WOW. Did he fail in the execution of that sentiment. I read that statement like 3 times, seeing if I was reading it correctly.

    Reply
    • ** I also have kids running around – sorry for grammar/spelling***

      Reply
    • Exactly, his thoughts on preventing abortion and supporting adoption (in this statement) are also overshadowed by his ending.

      I understand the concern of men abandoning children and their mothers but then that should be the focus, teaching them it’s not ok and they have responsibilities. Because our daughters have the same opportunities as our sons, and as a society we should support them in that.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Ultimate Blog Party « I'll Be Your Water

Would love some comments

