My 2 cents (a short post)

Posted on

“But who prays for Satan? Who, in eighteen centuries, has had the common humanity to pray for the one sinner that needed it most?”
(Mark Twain)

I’ve been quite but must speak my mind…

I give my thoughts and prayers to those who die in service to our community/country, and pray that they stay safe everyday. They are important to our way of life. But, that does not change that EVERY life is important.

I have posted statuses about my prayers to officers and troops who have died or been injured, and often no one acknowledges them.  Guess what? THAT’S OK.  I know where my heart, thoughts, and prayers lie that is what is important.

And while I don’t agree with the amount of press given to many celebrities when they die in comparison to others (like troops), that’s because I believe they are no more important than others (because no one is EVER less important than another human.)

But, Whitney was given “favorite son” status in New Jersey, as was Clarence Clemons–Bruce Springsteen’s saxophonist (which no one objected to), in honor of their contributions to the music industry. Just because a person has demons (as we ALL have some) doesn’t make them less of a person, nor does it negate their contributions to the world.

Unfortunately many people, including military members, struggle with substance abuse and their lives should be just as honored as the individuals who never did.

Again, I pray for our troops/fire/police/etc but I also fully believe that everyone’s life is important. So the whole “THIS deserves a flag at half staff” does nothing but make you look mean-spirited, because we are not to judge others (it’s not our job) but love our “neighbor” like we love ourselves.

BTW, those praying for our troops can you add our police officers and fire fighters too?  Last year we had 170 officers killed in the line of duty, and 20 already this year.  Yet, I see hardly anyone concerned for them or their families.

*Before you point your fingers, make sure you take a look in the mirror.*

About illbeyourwater

A twenty-something mom of 2, wife of 1, candid (sometimes brutal), psych student.

Would love some comments

